The one with ginger’s last stand

Movember…so the Austrailian tinkers who coined the term and the concept have a lot to answer for. Why anyone would grow facial hair without peer pressure and charitable intent is beyond me!

On the evening of November 1st I looked like this:

Nude of face and as normal as I ever look.

29 days later and I look like this (as one of my friends described me ‘a fat Ned Flanders’):

and as of today when ‘The Big Shave’ takes places of work it will be gone…forever.

So why am I writing this blog? Well not to share any insights or learnings there are very few except maybe that I will never grow facial hair again and when having dinner with the senior team sit at the end of the table and now and again side with the FD (who is mo-less). The honest reason is one last push for fund raising – I am number 2 in our company ranking (with only the CEO outpacing me) so if you can spare a few quid please go to http://mobro.co/robjonestring it’s all in aid of balls (and prostrate glands) but seriously for a very good cause.

I wanted to take a moment to thank those who have already forked over some cash – thank you all for making this itchy ginger ‘thing’ worth something

And with that done, Movember and my mo are both history and never to be repeated.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The one with ginger’s last stand

  1. Dianne Jones

    Congratulations – as the advert says every little helps!! As you know I too have been involved in charitable adventures, and just remember even though you “might” be disappointed that your itchy efforts did not raise as much cash as you would have liked, it’s still quids more than the charity had in the coffers than they did before you made the effort – Well done – I didn’t like the look of you with the Mo anyway, but I’m delighted you raised the funds!!

  2. Congrats on your fund-raising efforts, and your Master’s completion, Rob. This is my first visit to your blog, but I’ve noted two Simpson’s references in the three posts I’ve read, so I’ll definitely be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

